Hitting the target while missing the mark

Harvey Levine with TMZ told a story last night of when he was qualifying for the National Guards. He shared how his weapon jammed and once redirected, he began frantically shooting and actually did very well. The only issue was, he hit the target of the person next to him. His target was blank. As I listened to him sharing, I instantly thought of my dad. He really missed the target directly in front of him, his wife and children. But he always got it right with others.

He lacked the qualities that could have allowed him to be a phenomenal husband, yet, he was a perfect grandfather and spectacular great grandfather. He was a super uncle, caring brother, he never met a stranger, and when I tell you, he didn’t pay FULL price for not-a-thang! He’d ask for a discount on chicken wings!!!!

He always asked a person’s name and used it when speaking with them. He wanted them to feel special! My daddy loved life even when he didn’t use wisdom to prolong it. He trusted God yet sometimes forgot faith requires work. His words hurt those closest to him and healed strangers. He was a very complex man.

I recall him telling me, “You may not understand or agree with everything that I do, and maybe I am doing most of it wrong. But I tell you this. All that I’ve done (and he listed a long string of events), I do for you all my family. I love y’all more than life.” When his actions confused me, I’d always hear his words in my mind and you know what, I believed him.

Guys, life is messy, we are messier. In the end, all we can hope for is the ability to do the best with what we have the best way we know how .

Keep aiming for YOUR target.

About Florenza

"The Clarifier"- Author, Publisher, Narrative Coach, Children's Mindfulness Coach, Radio TalkShow Host, Minister, and Advocate... basically, I love speaking :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment