Show Your Work

I woke up this morning, thinking about my Algebra teacher. She had a thing about “showing your work”. It wasn’t enough to know the correct response; we needed to prove we knew HOW we got it. There were times when, if your answer was incorrect but your process right, you’d get credit. And vice versa. My grade in her class was a B-. For me, that was paramount to failure (I was a straight A student). At the end of the year, after seeing that GPA, I requested to repeat the class. This shocked her, but she understood; I wanted to LEARN the PROCESS. So, the following year, I sat in her class as well as Geometry, and I learned the principals and the how to and it has served me well in LIFE! This makes me think of faith and works.

Faith is the “substance of things hoped for… ” Substance and Hope. It’s you knowing the answer: “this too shall pass!” “it will be alright!” and my favorite, “BUT GOD!” You don’t produce it, you believe it. Faith is visible in your life because it has been allowed to grow, trial after trail.

The remainder of the verse says, “.. the evidence of things not seen. ” Evidence is proof! I love law & order, any crime or murder shows or books. They get my juices flowing. If it doesn’t include a corner, I ain’t interested in it! Evidence! Proof! Showing your work! How do we show our work in faith? By living as if we have it even if we DON’T see it.

Why is this important? Because when we, God’s children live as if we truly believe He will do as He says He will (not faking it till you make it BUT faith it like He’s able!) The world will see our good works (there it is, ya’ll) and glorify our Father in Heaven!

Right now, we are in school. It is called life! I don’t know about you, but I graduated kindergarten and went to First Grade. Believe it or not, I actually left Elementary School! We must live our lives as if we plan to one day leave preschool and boldly walk into the corridors of Graduate School! Faith without works is dead. My algebra teacher is saying, “show your work!”

Be blessed, Beloved, and please implement self-care. Pray. Meditate. Unplug. Plug in. Rest. Relax. Exercise. Dance. Sing. Be intentional.

About Florenza

"The Clarifier"- Author, Publisher, Narrative Coach, Children's Mindfulness Coach, Radio TalkShow Host, Minister, and Advocate... basically, I love speaking :)
This entry was posted in Insightful, Inspirational, Life Lessons, Motivational, Words to Ponder and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment