Not now …

A few weeks ago, an opportunity rose for me to apply for a training position. It’s a job I’ve always wanted to do (mostly because I was already doing it without the title of the position). Ironically, the same position opened in Hampton at the same time the advocate position opened for Cleveland (you already know which I received).

I listened for an answer from God and didn’t hear a yes or no. So, I considered it an opportunity and put my name in the hat. Immediately, I got an email saying my name has been sent forward for consideration of the position. Opportunity!

The more I pondered it, the more it felt off. Now, I’m very well known in the organization. So, I can’t be popping up for interviews and not accepting positions once offered. That is a no-go. Days passed, and the feeling increased. I talked it over with Papa Bear; he looked at the position, saw it was a promotion, and you already know. He was no help.
While in the shower, I heard the answer, “Not now.” Yikes!

Man, I started praying for a crop failure. I asked God to dry up my favor like the Sahara Desert. I asked for the locus to come and eat that thing up like it never even happened. By the time I stepped into my bath sheet, I felt peace.
Three hours later, I got an email saying, “You were not among the top candidates and are no longer considered for the position.”

Let me explain. The job is a job that I already did for years. Me not being sent further is the direct answer to my prayers! Pride would have jumped in and “challenged the list,” immediately halting the process. But God had already spoken. He said, “Not now.” In our faith walk, we will have moments where we get ORDERS from God: Do this, go there, give that, receive those, etc. There are other times when we are able to seize the moment and walk in favor through doors of opportunity. In both situations, what God really wants is for us to always be open to His voice and, to above all else, be obedient.

If you’ve missed the mark, chile, you better start praying for crop failures! They work wonders!!!

About Florenza

"The Clarifier"- Author, Publisher, Narrative Coach, Children's Mindfulness Coach, Radio TalkShow Host, Minister, and Advocate... basically, I love speaking :)
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Life Lessons, Motivational, Random Thoughts, Words to Ponder and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment